The Thirties

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

My dad used to tell me that life starts to get really good in your 30s.  I never really understood until I passed the mile marker myself. Now I can honestly say that you couldn’t pay me to go back to my 20s. I know “supposedly” I’m supposed to want to freeze time at 29 and celebrate that birthday for an eternity, but I don’t buy it. I’m a few years into my 30s and..

I FREAKIN love it.

It’s like I could exhale a deep breath when I reached my 30s.  Suddenly all the striving and trying to justify my existence in the world that marked my 20s ceased.

Did I magically figure it out? Umm… no.  

It’s just that there’s this sense of purpose and peace that has settled in. I know myself better. I’m more comfortable with who I am. I’m not as scared to speak my mind. I’m less afraid of what others think of me (still not immune, but it’s better). I’m excited about where I am in life (even if I don’t totally know where that is). As my dad promised, life is just getting good.

So to all my sisters in your 20s, enjoy the ride! Live with abandon. Go on the adventures. Just know that the party really gets started in your 30s.  There’s no ticking time bomb. Your life doesn’t stop at 30. It just keeps gets better.  Can you imagine if it’s this good in your 30s, how much more amazing it will be in your 40s, 50s, 60s and beyond?

The ways of right-living people glow with light; the longer they live, the brighter they shine.” Proverbs 4:18

BREAK OUT THE SUNGLASSES BABY!

Signature

One thought on “The Thirties

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways to Make Your Thirties Flirty & Thriving |

Leave a Reply

