Parachute

I know today is Monday and usually that means normally I’d be spamming your inbox with lots of pictures from another wonderful weekend, but this week is a bit different.  Actually it’s A LOT different for some pretty wonderful reasons.  This is the week we launch the new Piccadilly brand and website.  It’s the week I get to introduce you to the best team on earth and share with you all the things we’ve been working on for the last few months.  It’s super exciting but also pretty terrifying.  I thought today, I’d break with the norm and share with you a bit of what’s been going on in my heart behind the scenes.

parachute

via

I know I’ve said it like a gazillion times on here, but what’s happening with Piccadilly is really a dream come true.  Pursuing dreams is scary business though.  It means you have to actually admit and own what you want. It means you have to be vulnerable. It means you have to take risks. This inevitably comes with a barrage of thoughts like…

“What if people don’t get it?”

“What if they think I’m stupid?”

“What if I try and fail?”

“What if they realize I don’t know what I’m doing?”

“What if I REALLY don’t know what I’m doing?”

“What if… What if… What if?”

Even if it is scary and overwhelming at times, it’s also one of the greatest feelings in the world.   The flip side of the challenges I listed above, is that going after what you want also sets you free.  It gives you permission to be yourself. It let’s people in on the adventure with you. It gives others the opportunity to dream along with you.

It means that you can take your dreams off of the shelf marked “someday” and put them firmly in the space marked “today”.

Earlier this year I realized that I have been playing it safe for a long time.  I think subconsciously I had thought that if I didn’t really try, I couldn’t really fail.  Not realizing that every moment spent in that thought pattern was making failure a common occurrence. I read a really awesome book and have basically been listening to a song called “You Make Me Brave” on the repeat all summer and both have served as the catalyst for moving forward and “doing it scared“.

I know that sometimes it’s easy to look at the outside of something and think that it just happens.  I know many times I’ve looked at other people’s lives and thought that everything just seems to work out so easily for them.  They seem to have it all together.  Things just happen for them.  I’m here to tell you, that at least in my case, it’s not that simple.  Sometimes it’s scary and sometimes it’s messy, but it’s always worth it.

So here’s to dreaming of things bigger than you can accomplish in your own strength.  Here’s to being unrealistic. Here’s to taking the leap.  Here’s to hoping the parachute will open.

Signature

5 thoughts on “Parachute

  1. Things are definitely working out!! Love this post Hannah, it makes me realize I need to learn to be more brave, and that things that seemed scary aren’t so intimidating at all on the other side. “Do it scared” is a great mantra for me at the minute (or ever-INFP fo life:)

Leave a Reply

