A Promise

A year ago this week, I made a promise to myself.

I’d known for a long time that I wanted to write.  I knew there were things on my heart to say.  I’d even had a blog for a long time.  Yet, I felt totally stuck.  I would post maybe, once a month about something random or I’d have a burst of inspiration for a week but then it would peter off and I’d be left apologizing for not having posted in 3 months.  It was a pretty depressing cycle.  Despite that, I still had this desire to write and to share my heart with whoever might happen to wander by.

Then one day I had the wonderful opportunity to have lunch with my pastor, Donna Pisani.  In the span of that one meal, she challenged me to stop playing it safe and to take the next step.  Don’t you just love people who will lovingly push you out of your comfort zone?  She’s such an encouragement in my life.

After that lunch, I made a promise to myself that I would start writing.  Not just writing periodically but that, for a year, I would post something 5 times a week.

As you can imagine, the thought of doing this scared me in no small way.

What if I ran out of things to say?  

What if nobody read?  

What if nobody cared?

What if I failed?build your wings

 

via

I have to be honest and say that I am not the most disciplined person.  My track record of stick-to-it-ive-ness is not awesome.  Despite that fact though, I knew this was something that I not only wanted to do, but that I needed to do. I needed to prove to myself that I could stick to something and that I could keep a promise to myself.

Guess what?

I did it!

Granted it’s not been perfect, nor has it been easy.  There’s been a fair share of wordless posts and I definitely don’t think everything I’ve written has been gold; BUT I proved to myself that I can be consistent.  I’m pretty excited about that fact.

What makes me even more excited is that so many of you have come along on this journey with me.  

Thank you.

That is no small thing.  Thank you for your patience with me.  Thank you for your encouragement.  Thank you for just being there.  It means the world to me.

I’m excited to see what the next chapter of this adventure holds.  I know it’s going to be good.

This week I’m going to be recapping a few of my favorite moments from the journey thus far and talking about some exciting things moving forward. I hope you’ll stick around and share your thoughts on the journey thus far!

 

Signature

7 thoughts on “A Promise

  1. I’ve known for a while that there’s a book in you (I’d like to request my signed copy now). In the meantime, love everything you’ve written here. And I can’t tell you how much today’s message spoke to me (have had some struggle with stick-to-it-ive-ness, too!)

  2. Way to go, Hannah!!! You inspire and encourage those around you more than you know. (Ex. My children love when you sing and dance!) Keep up the wonderful work that God has begun in you.

Leave a Reply

