Princess

Ever since I was a little girl I have loved fairy tales (surprise!).  I remember sitting up at night, scouring the pages of my books as the adventures unfolded, as if before my very eyes.  Stories of brave exploits, daring rescues, handsome knights, vanquished villains and above all, the princesses.

2-7 castle

I love princesses.

I would sit for hours studying the images depicted on those pages, imagining what it must be like to be a princess.  I’d spend more time than I’d like to admit perfecting my princess wave (it’s wrist, wrist, elbow, elbow) and made pretend crowns out of every craft supply available.

The tales that always captivated me the most, however, were those of the princesses who lived their lives unaware of the title they held.  My childish mind couldn’t quite fathom the concept of being born into such greatness and living oblivious to it.  How could she not know?

As I’ve grown older, I’ve made a startling discovery.  This phenomenon I found so unsettling as a child is not confined to simple fairy tales.  There are people all around us, every day, who live unaware of the title they possess.  They masquerade as ordinary, average, worthless, unloved and unvalued…missing entirely the greatness they were born into.

Maybe, you are one of them.

I know I was. For far too many years, I lived my life disappointed in who I was.  Convinced that God made a mistake when He made me.  Baffled by how a perfect God could make someone so very imperfect?  I walked through each day with a growing sense of dread, waiting for the moment when the rest of the world discovered I was a fraud and at my core, unlovable and worthless.

Trust me when I tell you, it is no way to live.

There’s something that has happened though that has radically changed my perspective. No, as of yet, I have not been approached on my morning commute and offered a crown and a kingdom (fingers still crossed), but I have discovered who my father is, and let me tell you, He is anything but ordinary.  What’s more, He says that I am valuable, loved and of immeasurable worth.

I’ve started to believe it.

The truth is,  He says the same about you.  You are valuable, loved and of immeasurable worth.

lift up your head

That is my heart for you today and always, that you would know that you have a father in heaven who made you, named you and calls you priceless.

Regardless of your current situation, you are His daughter.

Regardless of what others may say, you are of great value.

Regardless of how you feel…

you are a princess.

Signature

2 thoughts on “Princess

  1. I so wish I had read this this morning (needed it!) but am reading it now and loving it! If I dream I’m a princess tonight, I’m ok with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

