Oma’s Cinnamon Buns

My Oma was an amazing woman.  She came over from Germany to the US when she was 17 years old.  She left her family in a small German town and came through Ellis Island to make her home in New York City.  It was there she met and married my great-grandfather and they raised 7 children together.  She passed down many wonderful things to her children, grandchildren AND great-grandchildren.  Some of my earliest memories are of her praying for me. Some of my happiest memories are spending time at her house on the lake and without a doubt some of my yummiest memories included her recipes.

I convinced my mom to walk me through one of her most famous recipes over Christmas break and I thought I’d share it here.  I’m hoping that maybe it will inspire me to try the recipe again myself when I get home.

Oma’s Cinnamon Buns

5-6 cups of flour

2 cups milk

1/2 stick of butter

1 egg

1 cup of sugar

1/2 tsp of salt

2 tsp (secret ingredient)

2-3 pkgs of yeast

Bring milk to a boil and then mix the butter, egg & sugar in with an egg beater.

photo 1Add salt & secret ingredient.

photo 2

Mix 1/2 cup of warm water with yeast. Let the yeast rise a little bit until it gets foamy & then sprinkle a little sugar on top.  Put flour in a bowl & make a little hole in the middle & add mix the yeast in.

photo 3

Follow by missing the warm (not hot. you should be able to hold your finger in it) milk mixture in with the flour and yeast with a wooden spoon until the dough is stiff.

photo 4

 Then knead the dough for about 10 minutes (pull it towards you and then push it down).

photo 3

  Place it in a buttered bowl & let it rise in a warm oven until it doubles in size.

photo 5

Take out the dough & make it into a little ball & spread it out on the floured counter with a rolling-pin.  Sprinkle flour on top & press into a rectangular shape.

photo 1

Mix cinnamon & sugar together in a separate bowl. Take softened butter & spread over the dough & then sprinkle the cinnamon & sugar mixture on top – be generous!

photo 1

 Then roll the dough & pinch to seal.

photo 3

Don’t be surprised if the little people take an interest at this point.

photo 2

photo 5

Take a knife & cut into 1.5 inch rolls & lay on a buttered tray – not too close together.
photo 4Let rise again on top of a warm stove.

photo 2

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.

photo 5

 Pour icing (powered sugar + butter + milk) on top OR buy the easy icing from the store (so says my 12 year old sister).

photo 4Here’s the final product! I highly recommend enjoying it with a cup of hot cocoa.

Signature

Leave a Reply

