StyleLove : Daria

StyleLove Header

One of my favorite things  about my life is the fact that I get to live it with amazing people.  I am blessed with incredible friends who each uniquely define what it means to have style! StyleLove is my way of highlighting their signature style and showcasing that beauty and style come in a million different flavors and forms.

Meet Daria

IMG_9614

She’s cute, creative and captivating!

LAH – How would you describe your style?

Daria – I would describe my style as fun. I love mixing patterns and putting colors together. I love buying stuff that’s different and other people wouldn’t pick out.  I LOVE to mix edgy and soft together.  Leather and tulle.  Preppy one day and total rock and roll the next.

LAH – What’s one of your favorite things about yourself and why?

Daria – I would have to say that I’m weird and even when I am being weird and goofy I still have a lot of friends that aren’t weird but they love me just the way I am. 

LAH – When did you first start designing (and sewing) clothes?

Daria – I started sewing when I was 10 years old. I learned from my grandmother and my mother.

LAH – Where do you find inspiration for your designs?

Daria – I find a lot of my inspiration from the early 1900s when there were a lot of bold patterns and it was a lot of color. I love the big dresses and how the men wore the slim suits with the hats.

LAH – What do you hope to do in the design world?

Daria – My dream is to have a fashion company with stores all over the world and everyone wearing my clothes, shoes, and accessories.

LAH – If you could design an outfit for one celebrity, who would it be and why?

Daria – If I could make an outfit or gown for a celebrity I would make one for Anne Hathaway because she is gorgeous and she can rock anything.

LAH – What would the dress look like?

Daria – The dress would be very edgy. I would probably make a leather gown with a little bit of lace.

LAH – Have you ever experienced feelings of insecurity about yourself?  How have you overcome them?

Daria – All thru high school I had a lot of insecurities about my weight. But one day we had a speaker come to my school and she told us every time you look in the mirror tell yourself you’re beautiful and smile and I started doing it and after a while I believed myself. Yes, I still have my bad days, but I have more good days now.

LAH – If you could give other women one bit of advice, what would it be?

Daria – Everyday when you wake up and look in the mirror say something good about yourself. After awhile you will start believing yourself. Trust me.  It does work.

I LOVE Daria and her style!  She is a total DIVA in the best sense of the word.  She carries a confidence and grace that far exceeds her years.  She is an urban princess.  Full of life, beauty and sparkle! I am constantly in awe of her creative gifting.  She made all of the skirts you see included in the photos above AND even made her sister-in-law’s wedding dress. Simply amazing!  I have no doubt that she has an incredibly bright future in front of her.  I love that I get to cheer her along as she goes.  My life is infinitely more sparkly because she is in it! 

IMG_9616
Signature

p.s. All photos are taken with my iPhone 5.

7 thoughts on “StyleLove : Daria

  1. A designer star truly in the making….I look forward to her taking the fashion world by storm. Big things are just around the corner. Daria, I am so proud of your boldness! You go LADY!

Leave a Reply

