Risk

I’ll never forget the vacation my family took to Bass Lake in Ontario, Canada when I was a little girl.   It was idyllic.  We stayed in a log cabin.  We roasted s’mores over a campfire.  We went fishing because my Dad wanted to catch bass.  Instead, he caught a clam and my mom caught all the fish.  Oh and I caught some fish too!

fishing hannah

Don’t let my face fool you, I was having the time of my life.

The thing I remember the most though was that the lake had a rather large dock.  Actually, it was a huge dock. My dad says it was about 30 feet tall. Since everything seemed big to me then, I’m going to take his word for it. I just remember it had 3 levels on it and I would sit and watch as the big kids ran up it, plunging into the ice-cold water as they cannon-balled off the top.

I.wanted.to.be.them.so.bad.

The problem was I was scared.  While I’ve always loved to swim, the thought of jumping off from such a height was equally terrifying and mesmerizing.  I finally mustered up the courage to climb up, not one, not two, but all three stories of the dock.  As I peered over the edge, I knew I had never wanted anything so bad. The problem? I was frozen.  Scared of what might happen.  Finally, I called my mom over. (Isn’t that what every brave person does in their time of need?  Call mom??)  I told her in no uncertain terms that I was going off the dock, that I couldn’t move and that she had to push me.

It only took the one push and I was hooked.  Climbing and jumping like all the “big kids”.   The fear of the unknown quickly replaced with the sheer thrill of plunging feet first into the cold water.

09-27 be brave

That day has stuck with me as a reminder of the life lesson I learned that day.  When you value what is on the other side of the risk, you have to take the jump.  Even if you need a little prompting from your mom.

Life is full of risks.  It’s risky to get out of bed in the morning (especially if your morning hair looks like mine).  It’s risky to make new friends.  It’s risky to love people.  It’s risky to be vulnerable.  It’s risky to let people in.  It’s risky to dream.  It’s risky to go after your dreams. It’s risky to believe you have what it takes.  It’s risky to go for it.

Life is risky.

and….. what else is new.

I feel like I’ve been confronted by the need to take risks a lot recently.  While there’s a huge part of me that wants to take the risk, there’s another part of me that screams that there are too many opportunities for hurt.  Fear likes to creep in and say that your known hurt is always better than the unknown.

You know what, though, sometimes you just have to jump.  Sometimes you have to take the plunge and trust that what God has on the other side is better than what you currently know.

So whatever it is today that’s keeping you stuck.  Take the leap of faith.  Ask God (or your mom) to give you a push if you need one.  Enjoy the exhilarating feeling of knowing that your fear can’t keep you stuck.  You can do it!

“She took a leap of faith and grew her wings on the way down.” – David Brinkley

Signature

4 thoughts on “Risk

  1. SOOO GOOD Hann!! Really needed to hear this! This part: “Fear likes to creep in and say that your known hurt is always better than the unknown… Sometimes you have to take the plunge and trust that what God has on the other side is better than what you currently know.” – Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

