Confessions of a Shopaholic

One thing I’ve discovered over the years is that liking pretty things comes at a cost.  There might be a sale or a bargain “too good to pass up”, but the truth is the consequences are never discounted.

I’ve realized lately that my budget is an area that requires some additional focus and discipline.  Pretty shoes are great, but unless my family wants to live in them someday, I need to make other investments in life. Sigh*

Thankfully I’m not in dire straights (don’t worry Mom!) and I haven’t reached the bottom like in the movie Confessions of a Shopaholic, BUT I think it’s time to make some positive decisions in this area.

So here’s what I’ve decided, and I’m writing about it here because if I don’t I’ll chicken out the next time I pass a sale…

I’m putting myself on a clothes & shoes shopping freeze for the next 6 months.

That’s right 6 MONTHS… those of you who know me… know this is a freakin’ big deal.

I clearly have enough clothes to last me 6 years… so it won’t be a big deal in that sense, but it is a big deal in that it is breaking a habit.  One that’s been with me for awhile.  You see, shopping for myself has been something of a crutch… a tough day at work was nothing that a pretty pair of sparkly shoes couldn’t fix… or could it?

I’m determined to find healthy ways of dealing with pressure that are not detrimental to other areas of my life.  I’m going to share them on here as I go.  My friend Caroline wrote a great post about this just yesterday. I totally relate to being a “Spontaneous Spender”.

If this post is beginning to sound just a bit too much of a downer…don’t worry!  I’m actually really excited to challenge myself in this area and I’ve been working with my friend Ella who has her own personal styling business, Start Close In, on some fun ways to bring out my style with a budget of literally $0.

It’s going to be quite the adventure!

Signature

p.s. It should be noted that there are a few exceptions to this freeze… I can still shop for other people… so if I give you an outfit in my size for Christmas… you know what to do.  Also, This freeze does not include beauty products.  That being said, if I start spending my paycheck on lipstick you have my permission to  stage an intervention.
p.s.s If you’re thinking… “6 months! That’s child’s play!”  How wonderful for you.  Please feel free to send your suggestions along.  Preferred method is via carrier pigeon.
19 thoughts on “Confessions of a Shopaholic

  1. Pinterest!! It’s the way I curb my spontaneous shopping. Pinning fun stuff gives me that moment of ownership, it’s stored in case I want to go back to it, but takes up no space in my room and doesn’t cost anything but time. We can get through this together, Hannah!

  2. This is so exciting, Hannah! You are going to inspire a lot of people to look at their finances and their closets differently 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading along!

  3. Pingback: WSP : Glitter & Girl Talk |

  4. Pingback: “I Have Nothing to Wear!!!” |

  5. Pingback: SMC : White After Labor Day |

  6. Pingback: The “B” Word |

  7. Pingback: Want | Need List - Pure Inspiration

Leave a Reply

