StyleLove: Bethany

StyleLove Header

One of my favorite things  about my life is the fact that I get to live it with amazing people.  I am blessed with incredible friends who each uniquely define what it means to have style! StyleLove is my way of highlighting their signature style and showcasing that beauty and style come in a million different flavors and forms.

Meet Bethany

IMG_2180She’s strong, sassy & sweet!

 

LAH – How would you describe your style?

Bethany – I feel most comfortable in graphic tees and chucks… I guess you would call my style sporty. But I also love adding pops of color- my current favs are Highlighter pink and bright yellow. And you can definitely find me on the weekends in wedges, a summer dress, silver jewelry and occasionally I’ll even put makeup on.  I like to keep it simple and cute.

LAH – What’s one of your favorite things about yourself and why?

Bethany – I like that I am organized. I like being about to go into chaos and create order out of it. And I don’t mean this only in a “organize stuff” kind of way (though that is a favorite). I like to be able to help others who get overwhelmed with life – to help them break down the big chaos mess they may see into applicable steps towards order and success. This makes me happy.

LAH – If you had a superpower what would it be and why?

Bethany – I wish I could fly. Then when it rains I could go above the clouds and when there is DC traffic I could miss it all!

LAH – Have you ever experienced feelings of insecurity about yourself?  How have you overcome them?

Bethany –Yes! I don’t think I’ve ever met a person who doesn’t fight insecurities. Usually my thoughts go: “Oh man!  That was such a stupid thing you said…you are so awkward…oh your hair looks awful…suck it in…oh you said something stupid again!” In the midst of all those thoughts, I have to remind myself that I am the only one that can see the super insignificant things I’m insecure about. I have to replace those thoughts with something more positive. It’s not always easy though. It’s so much easier to dwell on the things I don’t like about myself or throw a pity party. I have to intentionally push out those negative thoughts about myself and actually find the good in me.  I’ve had to change the conversation in my head to ” You are awesome… it doesn’t matter that you said something stupid… that doesn’t define you..you can laugh about it later … you are beautiful….” 

LAH – If you could give other young women one bit of advice, what would it be?

Bethany –Be happy! Weird advice, right? I think that we should enjoy the life that we have – regardless of the circumstances that are surrounding us or what we have or don’t have. I like to be able to learn from what I’m going through and find the good in every situation. THAT alone makes life so much better and happier. We tend to think if I was only thinner or smarter or richer or had a boyfriend/husband or ____ – but changing those things only brings on another list of things that we wish we could have/don’t have. So bottom line – find ways to enjoy the moments you have right now because you can’t get it back.

Bethany is amazing! The most wonderful friend.  She constantly inspires me with her optimism, discipline and passion.  Her style is effortlessly cool.  She can rock a t-shirt and baseball cap just as easily as a cute dress and heels.  She approaches life with a determination that is striking.  She makes goals and meets them.  She truly loves life and people.  She has kept me organized, on-time and optimistic.  Her laughter is contagious.  She brings sunshine wherever she goes and I know my life is brighter for knowing her.

 
IMG_2873
Signature
3 thoughts on “StyleLove: Bethany

  1. Don’t know how I’m just now seeing this — I usually like to catch up on all my blogs while I’m drinking my morning tea. Anyway, great pictures of a beautiful gal. xx

Leave a Reply

