Beauty

Coral & Aqua Selfies

“Has anyone by fussing before the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? If fussing can’t even do that, why fuss at all? Walk into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They don’t fuss with their appearance—but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them. If God gives such attention to the wildflowers, most of them never even seen, don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you?  Luke 12:26-28 (MSG)

I think it’s safe to say that “we” are obsessed with beauty.  Maybe not you personally, but as a society there is a fixation with a twisted and narrow definition of the word. Daily, we are bombarded with airbrushed images and condescending messages of what we “should” strive to be.

Too tall.  Too fat. Too short. Too thin. Eyes too small.  Nose too big.   Labels hurled like insults assault our senses.

We learn from a young age that somehow beauty equals value.  If you don’t meet the ambigious definition, well then…. stinks to be you!  Instead of playing the lead, you can be relegated to the role of  “comedic side kick”, “forgettable friend”, “wallflower” or “loner” in the story of your own life because, ultimately, you don’t have what it takes to be the heroine (or hero, if I haven’t already lost all the guys).

If you’re not careful, it is easy to get swept up in the strong undercurrent of deception.  It will pull you and toss you from one fad diet to the latest in anti-aging skin cream and ultimately leave you satiated with the overwhelming belief that who you are is not enough.

Don’t buy into the lie beautiful one.  You were born to be a wildflower.  Unique and beautiful in all your glory.

I have spent far too many years of my life believing the lie.  Frustrated because what was reflected in the mirror wasn’t what I thought beautiful should look like.  Angry with myself for not being perfect.  Punishing myself for somehow missing the mark.  Longing to be someone… anyone…else.

You know what?

It.was.a.waste.of.time.

I am not born to be like anyone else and neither are you.  Beauty comes in all shapes, sizes, colors, heights.  Just like the wildflowers, God made us each unique.  Not to be compared to one another but to be admired and to fulfill our own distinct purpose.

So today, it is my deepest desire that you can see your unique beauty.  That you can recognize that you were created with the utmost of care by a God who adores you and does not make mistakes.  I know it is not the easiest thing to see in yourself.  Trust me, I am figuring it out as I go (ginormous zit and all), but I know that I am not a mistake.  I know that God calls me valuable.

He calls me beautiful.  

The more I get to know Him, the more I trust Him and begin to believe that maybe, just maybe, that has been the truth all along.

Signature

One thought on “Beauty

  1. Pingback: I Want to Be God’s Kind of Beautiful | Young Lovin'

Leave a Reply

