When nothing makes sense…

I’ve noticed a pattern with myself.  When life gets crazy and I find myself falling under my circumstances, instead of rising above them… I stop posting.

I guess I took it to heart when my mother said “If you don’t have anything good to say, don’t say anything.

The truth is, though, I have a lot of good things to say.  This past month has been full of wonderful moments, beautiful people and love.  It’s just that I’ve found myself busy and at times at a loss for why some things happen and why some things don’t.  It’s easy to get caught on the merry-go-round of life and feel stuck and maybe just a little bit hopeless.

So what do you do when things don’t make sense?

Image

Photo Credit

You can drive yourself crazy with the “whys”… trust me, I know.  I’ll never forget what a good friend told me when they were going through an incredibly difficult time.  You see, they miscarried their first baby.  A baby they had been praying for, waiting for and were already in love with.  Nothing seems quite so unfair.  It was heartbreaking and yet, in the midst of a season that did not make sense they stood up and said something that has stayed with me.

” When nothing seems to make sense, we fall back on what we know to be true and what we know is that God is faithful, that He loves us and even in this difficulty He has not left us.”

They had a bottom line. There bottom line wasn’t something that they happened upon overnight.  It wasn’t based on their emotions.  It was based on the truth of what they’d seen God do in their lives time and time again.

Sometimes things in life don’t make sense (actually it might be more often than not) but I’ve decided that I can’t live in a constant state of confusion and disappointment because life isn’t what I want.  I have to have a bottom line to fall back on.  I have to look back and realize that yes, even in the midst of difficult times, I’ve never been alone.  God has always been faithfully with me. Sometimes speaking and sometimes not.  He’s always been working out things for my good and He always fulfills His promises.

So, what’s your bottom line in life?

Leave a Reply

