Case of the Mondays…

It’s Monday…. have I mentioned how much I loooooooooovvvveee Mondays? No??  Yeah, there’s a reason for that.  They’re not my favorite.  Especially not when the Patriots lost….

It doesn’t look like Brady likes Mondays either.  (Photo Credit)

This is why I don’t watch football.  I start to care too much and I can’t handle the losses… yesterday was rough.

Anyways, here I am… its Monday again… and I’m less than thrilled.   I wish this wasn’t such a common occurrence… but I’m working on it.  One of the ways I try to fight that familiar “Monday, Monday” feeling is something I learned from a book that I read as part of my “read 10 books” goal in my list.

(Photo Credit)

The 4:8 Principle is a short read that centers around Philippians 4:8 which says,

“Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse.”

The book talks about being intentional with what you think about.  One of the things that it mentions is that we often intentionally think through the worst-case scenarios of things.  We call it being prepared, but at its core, it’s worry and it’s setting negative thought patterns that eventually turn into actions in our lives.  The author, Tommy Newberry, encourages us to take the same amount of time to intentionally thing about the best-case scenarios.  Imagine things going well.

One of the exercises in the book is to answer the following questions.   I’ve included them on my calendar as a recurring event each Monday and I have to say, they do help.

1. What are 5 things I am thankful for right now?

2. What are 5 of my strengths or positive traits?

3. What are 5 of my best achievements so far?

4. Who are the 5 people that love me the most?

5. What 5 things am I looking forward to in the next 7 days?

Feel free to leave your responses in the comments.  This is going to be a great week! (whether I currently feel that way or not)

3 thoughts on “Case of the Mondays…

Leave a Reply

