Rejeitada

So if you’ve been tracking with me on this lil’ ol’ blog for any amount of time then you know I have a special list… a special list that I’m having a hard time keeping up with… Yes, that list…

Anyways, in my mad dash for the finish line (Yikes! I’m turning 30 in less than a month) I’ve been scrambling to meet some of my remaining goals… one in particular that I was excited about… take a language class… a Portuguese class to be exact.

You see I dedicated most of my college experience to studying Spanish.  As a Latin American Studies major, I felt it important to learn a language of the area I had decided to dedicate so much of my studies to and I’m so glad that I did.  I loved every minute of it (except that one minute in the middle of that one oral exam when I forgot stuff… yeah that minute stunk)

That being said, I realize that Spanish is not the only language spoken in Latin America and it has long been a desire of mine to also learn Portuguese.   Somehow in my mind if I can speak Portuguese than I will also be able to inexplicably master the Samba and maybe even Capoeira (don’t laugh… it could happen)  Unfortunately, my dreams were dashed earlier this week when I received a notice saying that my registration for beginners Portuguese was “Rejeitada”… that means Denied… I would have known that if I had made it into the class and I wouldn’t have had to bother my wonderful friend (Thanks Lety!).

Photo Credit

You see, there’s this great organization called the Global Language Network that was started by a few students at my Alma Mater (Go G-DUB!).  It’s mission is to advance language learning by offering classes in common and less commonly taught languages, by making language learning affordable and effective, and by facilitating cross-cultural interaction and exchange.  Let me tell you… THEY.ARE.AWESOME.

So awesome in fact that the demand far outweighs the supply (I learned about that in my Econ classes… yeah education!) and they don’t have room for me this semester.   I really shouldn’t even be telling you about them, because it’s just going to make it that much harder for me to get in… but I can’t help myself.  They’re pretty cool.

Anyways, I’m not giving up.  I will try again in the Summer and before you know it I will be doing this. ( or maybe I’ll learn German so I can sing about the Samba like these guys)

Any languages you’ve been wanting to learn?  Any you have already learned and want to teach me? 

One thought on “Rejeitada

  1. Um… how is it that I’ve NEVER known that you were a Latin Studies major?? Seriously, how did we skip that? When I come back we’ll have to speak only in Spanish so I can practice!

Leave a Reply

