Happy ITLAPD!

Every once in a while you come across a bit of information that is just too good to keep to yourself…. today just happens to be one of those days…. Did you know that today is…. drum roll please… International Talk Like A Pirate Day?!?!?! (Doesn’t it sound classier when you add the International at the front?)

Seriously… I’m not lying… it’s the truth.. matey!

This little bit of information has turned my entire day on its head.  You see, I have history here.

Photo Credit

This gentleman (I use the term loosely) is my great-great-great-great-great (just-keep-going) grandfather.  I think I must get my love of lace and brocade from him.  He is none other than the illustrious pirate Sir Henry Morgan.  Born in Wales (oh yeah, that’s where half my family is from),  he took to the high seas at a young age. He made a name for himself by plundering and pillaging the Caribbean under the guise of protecting Jamaica and being loyal to the British Crown.  He was named Governor of Jamaica (not a bad gig!) and is also famous for his non-tea drinking ways. (i.e. Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum)

Anywhoo, even though he is a long departed relative, I’m sorry to say that I haven’t seen one bit of his vast treasure.  Although this may be where I inherited my love of sparkly things from….

Won’t you join me in talking like a pirate today? I’m pretty sure it will go over splendidly in all my business meetings today… no?

One thought on “Happy ITLAPD!

Leave a Reply

