Dreaming of Purple Violets

When I was a young girl I would spend hours dreaming and drawing up designs for my ideal bedroom… I remember spending countless afternoons using every color pencil imaginable in the hopes of somehow capturing the dream sanctuary on paper…

Then one day, something truly miraculous happened.  My parents decided to re-do the large guest bedroom and told me that it would be all mine.  My dream was finally coming true… a beautiful new room that I could decorate to my heart’s content…

The one thing I knew for sure was that it would be PURPLE and have lots and lots of violets… they were my favorite flower… I still love them… they remind me of carefree summer days… anyways, that’s an aside…

One day while visiting the local home store I came across a fabric that brought all my dreams to life… 

Photo Credit

it was by WAVERLY… and I fell in love.  My Mom bought the fabric and made a bed spread and pillows similar to the ones above.  My Dad bought the wallpaper and laid down the plushest purple carpet I’ve ever seen.  I was in heaven.  I laid out my beautiful violet tea cups and would spend hours in my bedroom hosting the most elaborate tea parties for my dolls and teddy bears…

Alas…. we moved 6 months later… something I’m not sure I’ve ever fully recovered from.  It’s funny because when I dream of home, that’s often the room I see…

Guess what though… WAVERLY is still making dreams come true today!  Bryn Alexandra Interiors ( LOVE her name!) is hosting a giveaway on her site.  Check it out here and you can enter to win some dream inducing WAVERLY fabric of your own.

 

Happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “Dreaming of Purple Violets

  1. I had to laugh when I saw this post…. I remember that room! I can still see the purple striped wallpaper 🙂 Definitely the most purple I’d ever seen in one room, lol!

    This post was a blast from the past for me.

  2. I am 🙂 I’m busy homeschooling my own 4 pk’s now. A lot happens in 12+ years, huh?

    Glad to see you are doing well. I forgot how I stumbled across this, but it was definitely nice to see how a childhood friend is doing.

Leave a Reply

