Happy New Year!

Wow!  A fresh new year is upon us.  My mind is still reeling at the thought that 2010 is behind us.  I now know what my mom meant when she said that time would go so much faster the older I got.

As with most people, the new year has inspired to dream, set goals and look at the big picture of my life.  I’ve made my resolutions, tried to map out plans and set up accountability structures…. we’ll see how that goes 🙂

One of the things I’ve been thinking about most though as this new year begins, is the incredible faithfulness of God.  It’s not just what He’s done in my life, it’s simply who He is to me.  He’s good beyond compare, constant friend and guide and He his mercies are new every morning (not just every new year).

I’ve been listening to this song a lot and it really captures my heart for 2011 (and beyond).  I don’t want to embark on a new year full of my own plans and inspiration.  I want to follow him into the new year.  He has plans that far exceed my thoughts and expectations (Is. 55). Plans for a hope and a future (Jer. 29:11). Plans for love (Jer 31:3).  Plans for Joy.(Ps. 126:5) Plans for Peace. (Is. 26:3) Plans for salvation (Ps. 118:14)

How can the new year not look bright when He’s in charge?

” Use my hands, use my feet, to make your kingdom come. Through the corners of the earth, until your work is done.  ‘Cause faith without works is dead and on the cross your blood was shed. So how could we not give it away so freely?  I’ll follow you into homes of the broken. Follow you into world. Meet the needs for the poor and the needy, God. Follow you into the world.”

Leave a Reply

